Tina Henkin

Bingham Professor of Biological Sciences and Chair
Department of Microbiology

Tina M. Henkin is professor and chair of Microbiology and Robert W. and Estelle S. Bingham Professor of Biological Sciences at The Ohio State University. She received her B.A. in biology at Swarthmore College, her Ph.D. in genetics at the University of Wisconsin-Madison, and did postdoctoral work in molecular microbiology at Tufts University Medical School. She joined the faculty at Ohio State in 1995. Her research focuses on gene regulation and regulatory RNAs, with a focus on riboswitch-mediated regulation in Gram-positive bacteria. Research in her laboratory is funded by the National Institutes of Health. She is a fellow of the American Academy of Microbiology, the American Association for the Advancement of Science, and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences; a member of the National Academy of Sciences; and co-winner of the National Academy of Sciences Pfizer Prize in Molecular Biology for her work on riboswitch RNAs.  She has served two terms as full member of NIH study sections and is a member of the editorial board of the Annual Review of Genetics.